BCCI Full Form and Important Details

The BCCI full form is Board of Control for Cricket in India. It is a national level organizing body of Indian cricket. It works with the association of ICC and is considered as the richest cricket board among all the cricket board in the world.

The main purpose is to organize all the tournaments played by the Indian team whether outside or inside India. It also nominates and select players, umpires and other officials that are involved in the international events.

BCCI Full Form

The members of BCCI are selected by the representatives who are in the state cricket associations. The head of this organization is the president which is also the highest designation of this organization.

There are 27 state association members and 3 non playing members of the BCCI that is belong to the 5 cricketing zones in India are: North Zone, South Zone, East Zone, West Zone, Central Zone.

Highlights of BCCI

  • BCCI Full Form: Board of Control for Cricket in India
  • Establishment: 1928
  • HQ: Wankhede Stadium, Churchgate, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India.
  • The first president of BCCI: R.E. Grant Govan
  • The first Secretary of BCCI: Anthony De Mello
  • Official Website: Click Here

History of BCCI

The organization, some players together established BCCI on 4th December 1928 as a society that was registered under the Tamil Nadu Societies Registration Act to eradicate the monopoly of British in the then Indian cricket.

Initially, BCCI had 6 main regional members but now it reaches its members to 30 with the worth of Rs. 3,308 crores. As BCCI is not financed by the Government of India, it is not considered as the government body. BCCI has got international affiliation from ICC as well as regional affiliation by the Asian Cricket Council.

See also  WiFi Full Form, History, Working Function, Range, Use

Timeline of the formation of BCCI

1928: A society was formed by a group of people after their meeting at Roshanara Club in Delhi.

1932: This year is very significant as India played their first test against England that was held in Mumbai’s Gymkhana Club. Through this match, India make their entry in the international cricket as the sixth team.

1940s-60s: Princely states of the then India governed and controlled the BCCI between 1940s-60s

1952: After the partition of India, Ranji Trophy emerges as the national championship after the loss of relevance of the Bombay quadrangular tournament. India faced England in Madras in 1952 and make their first victory.

1983: In 1983, India as well as BCCI came into limelight when they recorded their first world cup victory over West Indies which was alternatively won by the England, Australia and West Indies.

1987: The world cup victory by Indian cricket team saw a great change and cricket become the No. 1 sport in India. With the involvement of BCCI, ICC become agree to host the world cup jointly in India and Pakistan instead of England.

1992: With the rise of Jagmohan Dalmiya, BCCI saw a path to become cash-rich by commercialising TV rights.

1992: Previously, any country can hold a tournament above three teams but now with the involvement of Jagmohan Dalmiya, the then secretary of BCCI, a six-team ODI tournament was staged in India.

1993: After a win in a court against Doordarshan to sell TV rights only for Indian cricket matches which means after this case DD will pay to the board to telecast the matches as well as the major tournaments.

See also  SSC CHSL Full Form 2022

1995: The supreme court ruled that the broadcasting rights will be retained by the BCCI and it has the authority to sell to highest bidder.

1996: Commercial clout of India and with the influence of the then president of BCCI Madhavrao Scindia and sectary of the BCCI Dalmiya, the world cup was hosted in the sub-continent (jointly by India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka) suppressing the chance of England.

1997: After failing to attain the required majority i.e. two-thirds, for the first time Indian person Dalmiya elected as the president of ICC for the duration of three years.

2000: BCCI helped Bangladesh to the status of test cricket team.

Responsibility of BCCI

Team members of different tournaments are selected by BCCI. This richest organization of cricket conducts tournaments national level as well as international level.

Tournament of BCCI

The BCCI along with board members decides events and their dates, sponsorship, opposite teams and many more. The president of BCCI selects the players of team following the discussion with captain of upcoming games.

Tournaments in India is conducted by the BCCI which are: Indian Premier League (IPL), BCCI Corporate Trophy, Irani Cup, Ranji Trophy, Duleep Trophy, Vijay hazare Trophy, Deodhar Trophy, Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, NKP Salve Challenger Trophy.

Coverage of Indian cricket matches

BCCI has the authority to control all cricket tournaments that are played in India and launched an application in Google Play Store with the name BCCI. In this app, you can get about all the matches, tournaments, exclusive footage, updates, behind the scene and many more things.

See also  Computer Full Form and Related Full Forms, Abbreviations

This is a free application of BCCI and has no irrelevant advertisements. You can download this app in android as well as iOS device to get all the notifications related to Indian cricket team.

More Full Forms:

RBI Full FormNEFT Full Form
ATM Full FormGDP Full Form
Banking Full FormSSC Full Form

BCCI Full Form: FAQs

Q1. In which year BCCI was established?

Ans: In 1928, BCCI was established.

Q2. Who was the first president of the BCCI?

Ans: R.E. Grant Govan was the first president of India.

Q3. How many cricketing zones are there in India of BCCI?

Ans: BCCI has 5 cricketing zones in India viz. North Zone, South Zone, East Zone, West Zone, Central Zone.

Q4. Where is the HQ of BCCI?

Ans: The HQ of BCCI is in Wankhede Stadium, Churchgate, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India.

Q5. What are the major tournaments that conducts BCCI?

Ans: The major tournaments that are conducted by BCCI are Indian Premier League (IPL), BCCI Corporate Trophy, Irani Cup, Ranji Trophy, Duleep Trophy, Vijay hazare Trophy, Deodhar Trophy, Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, NKP Salve Challenger Trophy.


We hope this post will help you to know the BCCI Full Form, Highlights, History of BCCI, Timeline, etc. For get more full form like this visit this website regular basis. Also, you can follow us on Facebook and Twitter to get latest post notification immediately.

Leave a Comment